Ohio Arts Council grants awards to CCAD grads & faculty

Congrats to CCAD family members who received Individual Excellence Awards from the Ohio Arts Council at the end of March 2019. They include: Christopher Burk (Fine Arts, 2000), Daric Gill (Fine Arts, 2004), Cody Miller (Illustration, 1995), Adjunct Instructor Mike Olenick (Media Studies, Still-Based, 2000), Laura Sanders (Fine Arts, 1988), and Adjunct Instructor Boryana Rusenova Ina (Fine Arts, 2006). In all, 78 artists received the OAC awards, which are worth $5,000 apiece.

“These awards honor the artistic excellence of individuals who are sharing their creative talents with Ohio,” OAC Executive Director Donna S. Collins said in a press release. “The Ohio Arts Council’s 2019 Individual Excellence Awards represent the highest level of achievement in these artistic disciplines, and each year the diversity and caliber of applications is astounding. The impressive group of artists receiving awards this year proves that amazing work is being done in the arts throughout Ohio.”

According to the OAC, award winners were determined via an open panel review process that focused on the artist’s past body of work. The Individual Excellence Award funding is intended to give artists “the resources to experiment and explore their art forms, develop skills, and advance their careers.”

Head here to learn more about applying to CCAD.