Tribeca film fest winners to receive alumna’s work

Fine Arts alumna Inka Essenhigh (CCAD 1991) is among the nine artists whose work will be awarded to Tribeca Film Festival winners during the 2011 event.

Essenhigh is joined by Robert De Niro Sr., Stephen Hannock, Mark Innerst, Tom Otterness, Will Ryman, Clifford Ross, Taryn Simon and Nate Lowman. The group represents the first set of donating artists for the Chanel-sponsored Artists Awards Program. Their work will be awarded to the filmmakers who win jury prizes at the fest's awards ceremony April 28.

“When we started Tribeca we decided to award original artwork to the winning filmmakers in lieu of a trophy because we felt that one artist giving to another demonstrated the importance of artists supporting each other in their work,” said fest co-founder Jane Rosenthal in a blog on Hollywood Reporter. “We are so pleased to have these nine talented artists continue this tradition.”

The Tribeca fest runs April 20 to May 1. Learn more about Essenhigh on her website.